Conservation 

on behalf of the State of Rhineland-Pfalz

Artificial reproduction of the "Eifeler brown trout"

The fishing association Prüm 1967 eV has been actively protecting species in the form of the offspring of the "Eifel brook trout" since 1991. The University of Mainz (Prof. Dr. Alfred Seitz) carried out the first genetic studies on the importance of the regional brown trout population. When creating a population genetic profile of the "Eifeler brown trout" by Prof. Dr. Arndt Schreiber and Dr. Michael Riffel from Heidelberg University, it turned out that the "Eifel brook trout" - if not different from that of the Rhine catchment area - formed the most homogeneous group of all trout in the Rhine catchment area. In the years that followed, the Prüm Fishing Association 1967 eV stripped many thousands of trout eggs from as many varieties of brown trout as possible from wild stocks and released the trout seedlings it yielded into several previously damaged Eifel streams to preserve the "Eifel brown trout" at a young age.

For this purpose, a specially built hatchery is operated, which is fed with 6 ° C cold, surface-independent water. Regular surveys of the populations of the occupied streams have shown that these measures, which are very time-consuming and labor-intensive for the fishing club Prüm 1967 eV, are crowned with success, since the wild brown trout are very true to location and reproduce particularly well. In this way, a self-reproducing stock could be established in many small streams. This is mainly due to the fact that only regional animals are used for breeding - autochthonous stocking - which means that the seedlings are already optimally adapted to their "new" environment through their genetic heritage. The biggest hurdle that stood in the way of breeding success were the scattered, partly unsafe ponds that were leased by the association. At this point, a cooperation agreement was concluded with the state of Rhineland-Palatinate. This included the work in the species conservation project "Eifeler brown trout and river pearl mussel" and as a result the construction of the later pond system "In der Litzer".

This contract has existed for more than 25 years and has now led the association to international activity. In addition to the alliance partners in Rhineland-Palatinate and North Rhine-Westphalia, the EU life project river pearl mussel, in particular the "Hellef fir d'Natur" in Heinerscheid, also benefit from the work of the association. More about our colleagues from Our at: www.margaritifera.eu

Angelverein Prüm 1967 e.V. | Stausee Willwerath | Teichanlage "In der Litzer" 

© 2017-20 by Christian Ziwes Webdesign-AV-Prüm

letztes Update 26.07.2020

  • Facebook Social Icon
  • YouTube Social  Icon
  • Twitter Social Icon
  • Google Places Social Icon

Artenschutzprojekt

im Auftrag des Landes Rheinland-Pfalz

Künstliche Vermehrung der "Eifeler-Bachforelle"

Seit 1991 betreibt der Angelverein Prüm 1967 e.V. aktiven Artenschutz in Form der Nachzucht der "Eifeler Bachforelle" Erste genetische Untersuchungen zur Bedeutung der regionalen Bachforellenpopulation führte die Universität Mainz (Prof. Dr. Alfred Seitz) durch. Bei der Erstellung eines populationsgenetischen Profils der "Eifeler Bachforelle" durch Prof. Dr. Arndt Schreiber und Dr. Michael Riffel von der Universität Heidelberg, stellte sich heraus, dass die "Eifeler Bachforelle" - wenn auch nicht zu den des rheinischen Einzugsgebietes verschieden - die homogenste Gruppe aller Forellen im Rheineinzugsgebiet bildete. In den darauffolgenden Jahren hat der Angelverein Prüm 1967 e.V. viele tausende Forelleneier von einer möglichst großen Vielzahl Bachforellen aus Wildbeständen abgestreift und die hieraus erbrüteten Forellensetzlinge zur Erhaltung der "Eifeler Bachforelle" bereits im jungen Lebensalter in mehrere vorgeschädigte Eifelbäche ausgewildert.

Hierfür wird ein eigens errichtetes Bruthaus betrieben, welches mit 6° C kaltem, oberflächenunabhängigem Wasser gespeist wird. Regelmäßige Überprüfungen der Populationen der besetzten Bäche haben gezeigt, dass diese, für den Angelverein Prüm 1967 e.V. sehraufwendigen und arbeitsintensiven Maßnahmen, von Erfolg gekrönt sind, da die ausgewilderten Bachforellen sehr standorttreu und sich besonders gut vermehren. So konnte in vielen kleinen Bächen ein sich selbst reproduzierender Bestand etabliert werden. Dies ist vor allem dem Umstand zu schulden, dass ausschließlich regionale Tiere zur Nachzucht verwendet werden - autochthoner Besatz - wodurch die Setzlinge durch ihr genetisches Erbe bereits bestens an ihre "neue" Umwelt angepasst sind. Die größte Hürde, die einem Zuchterfolg im Wege stand, waren die verstreut liegenden, teils unsicheren Teiche die durch den Verein angepachtet wurden. An diesem Punkt kam es dazu, dass ein Kooperationsvertrag mit dem Land Rheinland-Pfalz zustande kam. Dieser beinhaltete die Arbeiten im Artenschutzprojekt "Eifeler Bachforelle und Flussperlmuschel" und im Resultat den Bau der späteren Teichanlage "In der Litzer".

Dieser Vertrag besteht seit nunmehr als 25 Jahren und führte den Verein mittlerweile zu internationaler Tätigkeit. Neben den Bündnispartnern in Rheinland- Pfalz und Nordrhein-Westfalen profitieren auch das EU-Life-Projekt Flussperlmuschel, insbesondere die "Hellef fir d'Natur" in Heinerscheid von der Arbeit des Vereins. Mehr zu unseren Kollegen von der Our auf: www.margaritifera.eu

Angelverein Prüm 1967 e.V. | Stausee Willwerath | Teichanlage "In der Litzer" 

© 2017-20 by Christian Ziwes Webdesign-AV-Prüm

letztes Update 26.07.2020

  • Facebook Social Icon
  • YouTube Social  Icon
  • Twitter Social Icon
  • Google Places Social Icon